Fuck Da Po-lice

I should probably start with a disclaimer.  I grew up in a lily-white suburb where my run-ins with cops were for the most part limited to the odd traffic stop and maybe the occasional bit of harassment for loitering at the 7-11 (with a couple of arrests for underage drinking thrown in to shake things up a little).  As a result, I tended to shy away from too-vehement denunciations of the police, and I always had to laugh at the comically absurd spectacle of some would-be suburban gangsta blasting NWA from his car speakers while rolling through the quaint burg where he lived with his parents in relative ease and comfort.

Still, I never really trusted cops.  Even now, as a responsible homeowner (and in spite of the fact that I now live in more of an off-white suburb that’s perilously close to the city), I instinctively recoil at the sight of anyone wearing a uniform and badge and carrying a gun.  As often as not, he (or she) strikes me as a petty tyrant, a bully, the kind of person who is attracted to the job simply because it gives him (or her) power over other people.  And so I’ll freely admit that when I stumble upon something like this, it tends to confirm my worst suspicions.

As you’d expect from a website devoted to the glorification of da police, the comments are legendary.  It’s hard to pick a winner, but if I had to choose one that summed up the overall attitude it would be this one from “Granite” (as in “as hard as” or “as dumb as”?):

“It amazes me when I continue to read stories of officers getting indicted on good shoots.”

Now, I realize “good shoot” is probably copspeak for legal shooting, but I don’t see how shooting an unarmed drunk guy with his pants down around his knees could possibly qualify as a “good shoot,” no matter how you define it.  I mean, is there anything that would qualify as a “bad shoot”—short of going up to a random person on the street and shooting them for no reason whatsoever?

2 thoughts on “Fuck Da Po-lice

  1. I think a “bad shoot” would be a cop shooting another cop, or a cop shooting one of his bosses — a city councilman, a mayor, a congresscritter, a leader of industry, a banker.

    I have the same feelings about cops that you do. I get really tired of hearing them defend their actions by saying they “put their lives on the line every day.” That’s such bullshit. If anything, their lives are LESS threatened on average, day-tot-day, because they have authority, firepower and a tank-like vehicle in their favor. If a cop thinks he’s “putting his life on the line,” I start to wonder — what in hell is he doing? The only lethal threats I see, as a general rule, are people who are tired of cops bullying them.

    Maybe I’m missing something.

    I often say the switch from “peace officer” to “law enforcement” encouraged all sorts of bad apples to become cops.

    • CF Oxtrot,

      Good point. It pretty much goes without saying that the lives of cops and those on the higher end of the socio-economic-political scale are more valuable than everyone else’s. I mean, if cops were held accountable for every time they shot some riffraff, the world would surely descend into chaos.

      As for cops putting their lives on the line, I agree that this is a crock. Where I live, cops seem to have a pretty cush job–hanging out at convenience stores and handing out tickets for speeding. They seem to have a tougher job in the city, but no doubt that has a lot to do with the idiotic “war on drugs” and putting entire neighborhoods under siege.

Leave a Reply

